Archive News

Dr. Norrin M. Ripsman, Monroe J. Rathbone Distinguished Professor in the Internation Relations department at Lehigh University, is a featured speaker in the 2016-2017 speaker series for the Christopher H. Browne Center for International Politics at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Yinan He recently gave a talk entitled " China's National Identity Discourse and Foreign Policy" at the Center for Contemporary China at the University of Pennsylvania.

Victoria Herrmann '12, a former International Relations major was recently named a Gates Cambridge Scholar for 2014.  Please click on above link for complete article.
Bridget Joyce, IR Major '14, is a co-recipient (along with Sophia Dent) of the Lehigh Libraries Student Research Prize.  Bridget's research paper entitled, "Muddied Waters: The crisis of the legal regime of the.cas2.ian Sea, the actors, and its impact on the global oil and natural gas industry" was a paper submitted for her IR 344, Politics of Oil course with Professor Barkey.  A quote from the Library Prize Coordinator:
IR Department Award Winners:
Samuel Hodges, 2013 winner of the Aurie N. Dunlap Prize in Internations Relations
Thomas C. Scott, 2013 winner of the Carey B. Joynt Leadership Award in International Relations
Helping Others See, She Sharpens Her Own Vision  Former IR major, Natalya Surmachevska '12 and currently a student in Lehigh University's MA sociology program, had spent her summer 2013 vacation working with mobile eye care clinics in the West African nation of Ghana. She hopes to branch out into maternal care projects in the future.
Congratulations, Megan!!
Savannah Boylan, IR Major '15 is pictured below as a speaker at the UN on Monday, November 18, 2013 at a UNAI (United Nations Academic Impact) celebration. She spoke on behalf of youth making a difference. If you are interested, the link to the vide.cas2. is also below. 
Congratulations: IR Department Award Winners!
Bridget Joyce, 2014 winner of the Carey B. Joynt Leadership Award in International Relations
Carolina Mattsson, 2014 winner of the Oles M. Smolansky Award for Academic Excellence in International Relations